Suwannee Valley Times is distributed into the following cities and towns: Lake City, Live Oak, Madison, Branford, Dowling Park, Falmouth, Lee, Wellborn, Jasper, White Springs, Fort White, High Springs and Alachua

2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program
Branford student one of 20 selected in nation

Staff Reports

Branford, Fla., – Barrett Young, a senior at Branford High School, was selected as one of 20 in the nation for the 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

As directed by Presidential Executive Order, the 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars are comprised of one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large, 20 Scholars in the arts and 20 Scholars in career and technical education.

Created in 1964, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program has honored over 7,600 of the nations top-performing students. The program was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary and performing arts.

In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

The Presidential Scholars Class of 2021 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement this summer.

Eight Florida Students were named 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars. U.S. Secretary of Education Dr. Miguel Cardona announced the 57th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars, recognizing 161 high school seniors for their accomplishments in academics, the arts and career and technical education fields.

“The 2021 Presidential Scholars represent extraordinary achievements for our extraordinary times,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona. “I am delighted to join President Biden in saluting these outstanding young people for their achievements, service, character and continued pursuit of excellence. Their examples make me proud and hopeful about the future. Honoring them can remind us all of the great potential in each new generation and renew our commitment to helping them achieve their dreams.”

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

Of the 3.6 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 6,000 candidates qualified for the 2021 awards determined by outstanding performance on the College Board SAT or ACT exams or through nominations.

Barrett Young Bio

Barrett Young attends Branford High School where he serves as the Branford FFA President and Class of 2021 Vice President. He also is a member of the NHS, BETA, the Varsity Football Team, and the Varsity Baseball Team.

He currently has a 4.0 Cumulative GPA on a non-weighted system which includes dual enrollment and AP classes. He was selected as the State DAR Good Citizen Award winner and as a Sunshine State Scholar. He has obtained four industry certifications including Associate of Agriculture, Associate of Agriculture Systems, Agritechnology Specialist, and Animal

Science Specialist. He has placed 4th in the National BETA Agriscience Competition, placed 9th in the National FFA Agriscience Fair, selected as 2021 Florida FFA Star Placement Finalist, and received Gold on his National FFA Vegetable Production Proficiency. He plans to major in Agricultural Biological Engineering with a Minor in Chemical Engineering.

His future plans include working with plant genetics and developing new equipment to help farmers produce crops more efficiently.

The Florida scholars include (hometown, scholar, school, location):
· Branford Barrett Ryan Young, Branford High School,
Branford, Florida (U.S. Presidential Scholar in Career and Technical

· Melbourne Ellen Choi, Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy,
Melbourne, Florida.

· Miami Jalynn Jaielle McDuffey, Coral Reef Senior High
School, Miami, Florida (U.S. Presidential Scholar in Arts).

· Miami Elyse Yvonne Thomas, School for Advanced
Studies-Wolfson, Miami, Florida (U.S. Presidential Scholar in Arts).

· Miami Beach Is Perlman, Design & Architecture Senior High
School, Miami, Florida (U.S. Presidential Scholar in Arts).

· Port St. Lucie Stephen Adam Savage, Savage Home School,
Port St. Lucie, Florida (U.S. Presidential Scholar in Arts).

· St. Johns Elyse V. Soracco, Creekside High School, Saint
Johns, Florida (U.S. Presidential Scholar in Career and Technical Education).

FL Tallahassee Rohan R Davidi, James S. Rickards High School, Tallahassee, Florida.