Suwannee Valley Times is distributed into the following cities and towns: Lake City, Live Oak, Madison, Branford, Dowling Park, Falmouth, Lee, Wellborn, Jasper, White Springs, Fort White, High Springs and Alachua

Governor DeSantis appoints two to SRWMD board


Live Oak, Fla., – The Suwannee River Water Management District (District) welcomes Alphonas Alexander, of Madison, and Larry Sessions, of Live Oak, to the Governing Board. Governor Ron DeSantis announced the appointment of Alexander and Sessions last week.

     “We appreciate the Governor’s continued efforts in selecting representatives and filling these crucial seats,” said Hugh Thomas, executive director of the District. “Our water resources are an important part of our communities and we value the commitment of these community members in protecting our natural resources through their service on the board. We welcome Mr. Alexander back to the District and are looking forward to working with Mr. Sessions.”

    Alexander is a Consultant with The Forestry Company of Perry. Previously, he was a Forester and Maintenance Manager for Buckeye Cellulose Pulp and Paper Mill. Alexander served in the United States Army and received an Honorable Discharge before beginning his career in forestry. Alexander is a former Vice Chair of the Suwannee River Water Management District Governing Board and is a current member of the Florida Forestry Association. He is also a board member of the Madison County Area Agency on Aging and is the Post Commander of American Legion Post 195. Alexander earned his bachelor’s degree in animal science from Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University.

     Sessions is the Administrator of the Suwannee Valley Transit Authority. Previously, he was a Suwannee County Commissioner and a member of the North Central Florida Regional Planning Council. Sessions is a graduate of the United States Military Academy at West Point and served in the United States Army before receiving an Honorable Discharge.

     These appointments are subject to confirmation by the Florida Senate.